Panettone: An Italian Holiday Treat That Should Be on Every Holiday Table – Italian or Not.

Panettone – the Italian bread/cake is a tradition at the holidays – and blessedly, nothing like the dense concern that most fruitcake is.
It’s actually a symbol of the city of Milan, they are so well known for it.
I love it especially because of my Italian heritage, but also because it feels festive and special.
Yet, it’s approachable enough to have a slice in the morning with coffee, which I’m doing as I type this.
It’s my kind of baking – you can follow the base recipe and add any kind of dried, preserved and/or candied citrus/fruits, to your taste.
I find I need that kind of flexibility in my baking, and my life.
Inspired by Mario Batali’s recipe below, with a few key differences, here’s mine:

1/2 cup butter
2 eggs
3 egg yolks
4 c flour
1 c milk
1 c sugar
3 t baking powder
2 T liquid from preserved lemons
2 T small dice candied orange peel
2 T small dice dried pineapple
2 T small dice preserved lemons

Mix together well.
You’ll see the recipe doesn’t call for salt, which all my baking recipes do, and that’s because the preserved lemon juice [and the lemons themselves] have a lot of it, which helps balance the cake beautifully.
Using the traditional Panettone baking papers, makes for a beautiful presentation.
If you can’t get these, no problem, use a high-sided cake pan, or event a Bundt or ring pan.
Butter and flour mold.
375* / 75m

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/mario-batali/panettone-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

