If You Put The Food in a Ball Jar, I’m Going To Buy It

What is it about Ball jars, that those of us obsessed with them, makes us so obsessed?
Charm.
It’s the charm, definitely.
They’re good for the environment – reusable and all.
They’re better for our health – that our food is stored in glass, and not plastic.
But, above even these wonderful benefits, it’s the charm that gets me every time.
I recently hosted a Ball jar party, where everyone brought enough of each thing they made, for the others to take home.
Though I didn’t specify it had to be food, most everyone did bring food.
We had citrus hummus, Oreo cheesecake, black bean and corn salsa, madeleine cookies and vodka sauce.
Everything was truly delicious, and made better by seeing it sitting on the refrigerator shelf in jars.
My refrigerator has never looked so good.
If I’m at a farmer’s market and there’s something packaged in a Ball jar of any size – I’m going to buy it.
If I’m at a food market and there’s something packaged in a Ball jar of any size – I’m going to buy it.
This recently happened to me, when I stumbled on apple butter in Ball jars.
I was not in the market for apple butter.
In fact, I’m not even a real fan of apple butter.
But, the jar pushed me over the edge and I bought not one, but two.
It’s not the most practical approach to buying food, but it is one of the most fun.

Leave a Reply

